The Helmet

I’ve got a thing for vintage/retro/antique aesthetics and funky details, as you can probably tell. I recently bought a new helmet in preparation for the forthcoming improvement in weather that we typically experience in southern California this time of year. The helmet arrived and was simply too simple for my tastes; my wife gives me a hard time because I simply cannot leave any open surface as intended, preferring to paint or texturize as I see fit.

Inspired by a design on a bobber-style gas tank I had seen, I got to work with a touch-up paint kit I had, applying as smoothly as possible. Being intended for vehicle use, the paint had a clear coat in the mixture, so it went on beautifully (they can be purchased at any auto parts store for about $12). I used the rivets on the side as a gauge to draw my lines from, ensuring the symmetry of my design, and took my time in getting it as exact as possible. A flexible stencil for the lightening bolt made sure the image was even on both sides. Finally I taped off the lining of the helmet and sprayed it lightly with a matte finish clear coat to seal the paint and dull the sparkle effect on the helmet to a more toned-down sheen. The finished product is just as I intended- old-school and funky, just like me.

The blank canvas…

Image

Inspiration

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

